FEMA Assistance after Hurricane Matthew

FEMA Assistance after Hurricane Matthew

On Tuesday October 25, SCEMD posted the following notice on their website:
Berkeley, Charleston And Chesterfield Counties Eligible For FEMA Individual Assistance

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The Federal Emergency Management Agency approved three additional counties for Individual Assistance, allowing survivors who sustained losses to apply for aid in the wake of Hurricane Matthew. Counties approved for FEMA Individual Assistance include: Berkeley, Charleston, and Chesterfield.

Assistance can include money for temporary rental assistance and essential home repairs for primary homes, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help survivors recover from the effects of the disaster.

Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Calhoun, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Horry, Jasper, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, Orangeburg, Sumter and Williamsburg counties were previously designated for Individual Assistance.

Survivors can register online at DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 800-621-3362. Disaster assistance applicants who are deaf or hard of hearing should call 800-462-7585 (TTY); those who use Video Relay Service may call 800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate 7 AM to 10 PM seven days a week until further notice.

Website: http://www.scemd.org/component/content/article/11-home-page/news/274-matthew-news-release-32

-Submitted by Guy Gimson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *