Dock Street Theatre – Disney’s The Little Mermaid – Multiple Dates in September

Disney’s The Little Mermaid

Based on one of Hans Christian Andersen’s most beloved stories and the classic animated film, “Disney’s The Little Mermaid” is a hauntingly beautiful love story for the ages. Triton’s youngest daughter, Ariel, wishes to pursue the human Prince Eric in the world above the waves. Making a bargain with the evil sea witch Ursula, she trades her fins for legs but soon learns that life above the sea is not all that it seems.

With music by eight-time Academy Award winner Alan Menken, lyrics by Howard Ashman and Glenn Slater, and a compelling book by Pulitzer prize-winning playwright Doug Wright, this fabulous musical fable has delighted audiences in sellout performances all over the world. “Disney’s The Little Mermaid” will capture your heart with its irresistible songs including the romantic “Kiss the Girl” and Academy Award-winning”Under the Sea”. Charleston Stage’s very first productions in 1978 were focused on families and youth, and as we launch our 40th season, we’re excited to return to our roots with this special family friendly production.

Winner of 2 Academy Awards and 2 Olivier Awards!
South Carolina and Charleston Premiere!

Music by Alan Menken
Lyrics by Howard Ashman and Glenn Slater
Book by Doug Wright
Based on Hans Christian Andersen Story and the Disney Film Produced by Howard Ashman and John Musker and Written and Directed by John Musker and Ron Clements
Direction by Marybeth Clark
Musical Direction by Sam Henderson
Choreography by Cara Dolan

Lead Title Sponsor: The Henry and Sylvia Yaschik Foundation
Associate Sponsor: Katherine Glenn

Click here for tickets and information.

Performance Dates:
Aug. 30 Wed 7:30pm *Pay-As-You-Please
Sept. 1 Fri 7:30pm **Opening Night
Sept. 2 Sat 7:30pm
Sept. 3 Sun 3:00pm
Sept. 7 Thu 7:30pm
Sept. 8 Fri 7:30pm
Sept. 9 Sat 7:30pm
Sept. 10 Sun 3:00pm
Sept. 14 Thu 7:30pm
Sept. 15 Fri 7:30pm
Sept. 16 Sat 7:30pm
Sept. 17 Sun 3:00pm
Sept. 21 Thu 7:30pm
Sept. 22 Fri 7:30pm
Sept. 23 Sat 7:30pm
Sept. 24 Sun 3:00pm

Location:  Dock Street Theater, 135 Church Street, Charleston, SC

(Photo credit:  CVB website)

-Tidelines Editor

Leave a Reply