Seabrook Island Garden Club Closes Its 2020-21 Season in Full Bloom

On Friday, May 7, the Seabrook Island Garden Club held its annual end of year luncheon in the Atlantic Room at the Seabrook Island Club. With last year’s luncheon cancelled early in the planning stages, many Club members were delighted to learn the tradition resumed this year. The Club’s crowning event produced a record turnout of SIGC members.

SIGC faced many of the same challenges as most social organizations in 2020 as it contemplated how to go forward. “A decline in membership was certainly one outcome,” stated Dianne Thompson Cain, SIGC President. “What we actually realized was a twenty-five percent increase in our membership this year,” she stated to luncheon attendees. “I can hardly believe we’re here, celebrating the Club’s 32nd year.”

As members settled around beautifully appointed tables before lunch service began, special recognition was given to the eight past presidents in attendance (going back to 2000, SIGC’s twelfth year), as well as each of the chairpersons who served the Club this year. The ceremonial closing of the SIGC’s business commenced with acknowledgment of the extraordinary leadership by this year’s officers: Holli Bolte, Gina Goad, Jo Eisenhauer, and Karen Nuttall.

Outgoing President, Dianne Thompson Cain then presented the newly elected Officers for the Seabrook Island Garden Club season beginning in September 2021: Karen Nuttall (President), Carol Price (Treasurer), Laura Simpson (Corresponding Secretary), and Ann Zielinski (Recording Secretary). “We are ever grateful,” said Dianne, “for the trust and support of our members who made this year possible.”

Karen Nuttall, Incoming President, then addressed the members and invited everyone back at summer’s end to usher in SIGC’s 33rd year. Open membership to all Seabrook Island residents—full and part-time—begins with the first meeting in September, typically after Labor Day. The date will be announced in mid-summer.

-Submitted by Cindy Zock, SIGC

(Image credit: SIGC)